Herb Ally Challenge #1

Decorating the Journal Cover

http://fieldoftansy.blogspot.com/2011/01/first-herbal-ally-challenge-decorating.html

I chose to use a binder instead of a notebook/journal.  I guess this harkens back to my college days when I was required to create an organized binder for each music education class I took.  The goal was to be able to walk into any music teaching situation and have a year’s worth of lesson plans!

For my cover, I chose a few pictures and a distribution map of its range in North America.  I was excited to learn that I can find this plant almost anywhere!

Some things I included in my binder are:

  • notebook paper
  • colored pencils
  • zipper binder pouch
  • small field notebook
  • post it notes
  • pocket folder
  • index tabs
  • small clippers

All ready to go!

By the way, I noticed 2 seeds germinating in the greenhouse today, but they were of Baikal Skullcap Scutellaria baicalensis.

About theherbshack

Jennifer Shackleton is a soap crafter and greenhouse grower specializing in herb plants. Jennifer began cultivating her interest in plants and nature as a young child roaming the woods at her grandparents' farm near Rough River Lake in Kentucky. In 2005, she formed a business called The Herb Shack growing culinary and medicinal herbs in an environmentally friendly way. She uses organic growing practices on her plants and sells them in biodegradable pots instead of plastic containers. As an outgrowth of the greenhouse business, Jennifer has begun studying and experimenting with the use of herb plants. This blog is about my journey on growing the herb plants, getting to know them, and learning how to use them. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Herb Ally 2011 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Herb Ally Challenge #1

  1. kristine says:

    yay! i think binders make great journals, they are so versatile! the downside to my type of journal is having to fit everything into it. i like the idea of being able to stash the pens and pencils in there.

  2. I love this! Really nice to grab and have everything in one spot! Nice! Hello “waves”, nice to meet you xx

Leave a Reply

